Top Ten Books I Read in 2014


Today I’m going to be linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly feature on their blog. Enjoy!


ttt

Top Ten Books I Read This Year

(I’ve posted seperate list for novels and comics, so technically there are twenty books, but oh well.)


Novels

  1.  FangirlFangirl by Rainbow Rowell. It was just such a fantastic story about growing up, falling in love, and, of course, fanfiction.
  2. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. It tore my heart into little tiny pieces and then stomped all over them, but it was still an amazing book. I love how friendship was placed so much more highly than romance in the story- that’s something you don’t see very often, and I think it’s important. Falling in love is great and all, but friendship is important too.
  3. Ash by Malinda Lo. I love fairy tale retellings so, so much. And you know what I love even more than fairy tale retellings? LGBT+ fairy tale retellings.
  4. Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan. I can’t quite decide whether I liked it or House of Hades better, and I wasn’t a huge fan of the ending, but it was still an amazing book, and definitely lived up to my expectations.
  5. Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson. I love love loved this book. Fantastic world building, a three dimensional heroine, and a killer plot twist… what more could I ask for?
  6. SeraphinaSeraphina by Rachel Hartman. The way that she portrayed dragons in her book was so unique. It really intrigued me. And I’ve always loved fantasies revolving around political intrigue, as well. They… well, intrigue me.
  7. Hero by Perry Moore. This year I tried to do a little reading of superhero novels, just to get a better idea about the genre I’m writing for. Hero definitely wasn’t what I expected. Instead of action and fighting, it was about personal identity.
  8. Quicksilver by RJ Sanderson (I also loved the first book in the duology, Ultraviolet, but I preferred Quicksilver). It was so suspenseful through the whole story. I just couldn’t put it down. Definitely refreshing after Hild (which seemed to go on for ever and ever and ever).
  9. The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater. I really liked The Raven Boys, don’t get me wrong, but… wow. The shift in point of view really changed the way I think about Ronan.
  10. Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil. This is probably the fluffiest book on my list, but hey, geeky romance! Yaaaay!

ComicsRunaways

  1. The Runaways series by Brian K Vaughan. My first ever comic book (Well, technically, that was New X-Men, but I was so lost and didn’t know who anyone was, so that doesn’t count)! Anyway, I read volume 1 at the beginning of the year and devoured the rest of the series not long after. It’s still one of my favorite books.
  2. Young Avengers by Kieron Gillen. Even though the plot seemed a little rushed now and then, the characters were all amazing, and the humor was perfect. It isn’t easy for books to make me laugh, but Young Avengers had me cracking up.
  3. Excalibur by Chris Claremont is probably one of the oldest books I’ve read, but hey, who cares? It was a really good series, included three of my favorite characters (Kitty, Kurt, and Rachel), and… Well, I mean, British superheroes. I’m not sure how you can beat that.
  4. Princeless by Jeremy Whitley. A fantasy story about busting tropes (and patriarchy!)… What more can you ask for? I’m really disappointed that my library only has volume one.Princeless
  5. The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks. I’m not quite sure what to say about this one except that it was… fun? Cute? Anyway, I liked it.
  6. Hawkeye by Matt Fraction. Clint Barton! Kate Bishop! A dog! Hilarity ensues.
  7. Guardians of the Galaxy by Brian Michael Bendis. I liked the older ones as well (and I really miss Moondragon and Phyla Vell), but I felt like Bendis’s run was better overall. I also preferred the art style. And Gamora and Angela make a great pair, too.
  8. Amazing X-Men by Jason Aaron. Nightcrawler was the one who pulled me into the Marvel Universe (through the Wolverine and the X-Men TV show), but around 2010-ish, he died. Well, now he’s back (Rule number one of comics: nobody stays dead)! The story was good, I liked the characters, and even if he isn’t up there with Kitty Pryde and Quentin Quire and Gertrude Yorkes, I’ll always love Nightcrawler.
  9. All New X-Men by Brian Michael Bendis. I always liked the original X-Men team (except Scott, ugh), and it’s great to see them back, even if it isn’t exactly in the best of circumstances.watxm
  10. Wolverine and the X-Men by Jason Aaron (I really love the X-Men, okay?) is probably my current favorite on the list. Amazing X-Men is about… well, the X-Men. All New X-Men is about teens from the past trying to fit in with life today. Uncanny X-Men is about Scott Summers (ugh) being angsty (I think. I haven’t actually read those.) But Wolverine and the X-Men is about the kids at the Jean Grey School. It’s about growing up and looking toward the future and getting past everything that life throws at you. It’s about standing together through thick and thin. And it’s about sassy teenagers and having fun. It’s a lot lighter than the rest of the new X-Men books, and I guess you could say that’s one reason I love it.

What was your favorite book you read this year? What do you think of the ones I’ve posted?

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read in 2014

  1. Did you hear? Rainbow Rowell is writing a new book! Called Carry On…as in Carry On, Simon! *squeals eagerly*
    YES. Code Name Verity was amazing, yet so sad!
    I really need to read Ash… 🙂
    Blood of Olympus kinda disappointed me, but it was a great book.
    Seraphina was so intriguing! I loved it, too. 🙂

    • AAAAH I DIDN’T HEAR ABOUT THAT OHMYGOSH *flails* Through the whole book, I really wanted to read Carry On Simon 😀
      I loved Code Name Verity so much, but… Yeah. I was practically sobbing.
      Yeah, Ash is really good. You totally should!
      And I kinda agree with you on that. It lived up to my expectations, but that was about it. Especially the ending… It felt like Riordan was pushing too hard to give everyone their happily ever after.

  2. Just started Mistborn, and now I’m curious as to what the twist is. Is it that the Lord Ruler has actually been dead this whole time? (I’m not sure how this is possible, but if it’s true, don’t tell me.)

    Completely agree on The Dream Thieves. Out of the three books out so far, it’s probably my favorite.

    • I honestly don’t want to say- it’ll spoil everything, and this is a book you really don’t want spoiled 😉 He’s an amazing author, though. I loved Steelheart as well.

      And yeah, Dream Thieves was great. I just started Blue Lily, Lily Blue, though, so I’ve only got the first one to compare it to.

  3. Pingback: Happy New Year: 2015! | Stay and Watch the Stars

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

