My Hero Monday: Shadowcat


{My Hero Monday Logo}

I’ll be participating in My Hero Monday again this month! My Hero Monday is a monthly blog link-up over at A Girl’s Voice and Free As A Girl With Wings (both of which are amazing blogs, and I highly encourage you to go check them out). It celebrates female heroes, and also encourages people to learn about new ones. If you’d like to see other blogs participating, or join the link-up next month, I’ve included links at the bottom of this post.

Since there was no specific theme for this month, I decided to go with a fictional character- one of my favorite X-Men, Kitty Pryde!

kittyprydekittypryde4

Their full name: Katherine “Kitty” Pryde (AKA Shadowcat)

Birthdate: Unknown

Current Age: She’s currently about 24. Her first appearance in the comics was in 1980 (Uncanny X-Men #129)

School(s): Various incarnations of the Charles Xavier School. She also studied physics at the University of Chicago and studied abroad in England.

Profession: Superhero, teacher/ headmistress (former), bartender (former)

When Did I First Hear About Her: The Wolverine and the X-Men TV show (which happens to be what first got me hooked on superheroes, and later, comics). She and Nightcrawler were two of my favorite characters by far.

What Makes Her One of My Heroes: Kitty is a smart- like, real, actual genius smart- realistic, and headstrong young woman. She’s learned a lot through her years as an X-Man, and really grown as a character. She went from a nervous little girl to butt kicking leader of the X-Men.

kittybobbykittyoriginal

She’s outspoken, strong willed, and sticks up for herself and the people who need it. She isn’t afraid to point out when people are in the wrong, even if they’re someone who she’s admired and looked up to her entire life.

Kitty is Jewish, and a mutant as well, (For those of you who aren’t big on superheroes, mutants are a human subspecies from the Marvel universe. They have superpowers, but they’re also a minority, and hated because of what they are- the next step in human evolution. Humanity has attempted time and time again to completely wipe the mutants out, simply because they’re afraid.) but she isn’t ashamed of that fact, and she doesn’t try to hide it in the least bit.

kittypryde5

And did I mention the fact that she’s a real, bona fide genius? I love being able to look up to heroines that are smart as well as strong, so that’s always a plus for me.kittyandlockheed

Kitty was one of the first female X-Men to carry a major story arc more or less by herself (The Days of Future Past comics, in case you were wondering. Originally it was her, not Wolverine, who traveled back in time and saved the day.)

daysoffuturepast daysoffuturepastkitty  daysoffuturepastkitty2

Also, she has a tiny purple pet dragon. Need I say more?

kittyandlockheed2

Quotes:

You keep waiting for the dust to settle and then you realize this is it; the dust is your life going on. If happy comes along — that weird unbearable delight that’s actually happy — I think you have to grab it while you can. You take what you can get, ’cause it’s here, and then… gone.

My partner here and I have helped save the world at least twice! So a gang of street thugs is really no great big deal. Thanks for worrying, though. That’s sweet.

Just like a classic fairy tale. We’re all gifted with powers… for which we each pay a price.

Professor Xavier is a jerk!

And, later…

Tony Stark is a jerk!

I am Jewish. I am a mutant. And I want people to know who and what I am.

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

