The To Be Read Tag


Hi guys! I was tagged by Chloe @Free as a Girl with Wings, so let’s get started!

toberead

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

Goodreads, mostly. I’m pretty lousy at remembering to add them, though, so my Goodreads list is kind of incomplete.

Is your TBR mostly print books or ebooks? 

Print books, unfortunately. I haven’t used my Kindle for months now, because to get the books I want to read from the library, they need to be print.

How do you decide which book from your TBR to read next?

Usually, it’s just whichever I can get first. So if there’s one my local library has, then I’ll probably read it first. Then I’ll move on to ones I need to request from other libraries.TheWhiteDragon

A book that’s been on your TBR the longest?

The White Dragon by Anne McCaffrey. I love her books, but it’s been a while since I’ve read any. Hopefully, I’ll read a couple more next year.

A book you recently added to your TBR?

Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill. I spotted it on a list of must-read feminist YA novels, and… wow. It looks like a really, really heavy book, but it also sounds pretty amazing. Here’s the Goodreads summary.

“In a world in which baby girls are no longer born naturally, women are bred in schools, trained in the arts of pleasing men until they are ready for the outside world. At graduation, the most highly rated girls become “companions”, permitted to live with their husbands and breed sons until they are no longer useful.

For the girls left behind, the future – as a concubine or a teacher – is grim.

Best friends Freida and Isabel are sure they’ll be chosen as companions – they are among the most highly rated girls in their year.OnlyEverYours

But as the intensity of final year takes hold, Isabel does the unthinkable and starts to put on weight.
And then, into this sealed female environment, the boys arrive, eager to choose a bride.

Freida must fight for her future – even if it means betraying the only friend, the only love, she has ever known. . .”

A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

I was looking through the Goodreads list of 2015 YA releases and spotted Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee and ohmygod the cover is absolutely gorgeous. The novel itself looks interesting, but it’s the cover that caught my eye. Here’s the Goodreads summary (again):

“Missouri, 1849: Samantha dreams of moving back to New York to be a professional musician—not an easy thing if you’re a girl, and harder still if you’re Chinese. But a tragic accident dashes any hopes of fulfilling her dream, and instead, leaves her fearing for her life. With the help of a runaway slave named Annamae, UnderAPaintedSkySamantha flees town for the unknown frontier. But life on the Oregon Trail is unsafe for two girls, so they disguise themselves as Sammy and Andy, two boys headed for the California gold rush. Sammy and Andy forge a powerful bond as they each search for a link to their past, and struggle to avoid any unwanted attention. But when they cross paths with a band of cowboys, the light-hearted troupe turn out to be unexpected allies. With the law closing in on them and new setbacks coming each day, the girls quickly learn that there are not many places to hide on the open trail.
 
This beautifully written debut is an exciting adventure and heart-wrenching survival tale. But above all else, it’s a story about perseverance and trust that will restore your faith in the power of friendship.”

A book on your TBR you never plan on reading?

There aren’t any. I thought the whole point of a TBR was making a list of books you plan on reading in the future?

An unpublished book on your TBR you’re excited to read?

Winter by Marissa Meyer. I LOVED the first three books of The Lunar Chronicles and I seriously can’t wait for the fourth (and final) book. I’m also really looking forward to the final book in the Raven Boys series by Maggie Stiefvater,

TheHungerGamesA book in your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

The Hunger Games trilogy. I read the first book a couple of years ago and found it pretty “meh”. Definitely not worth all the hype. But, I mean, everyone loves it, and my reading tastes have changed a lot since then… Maybe I’ll give it another go.

Number of books in your TBR?

Goodreads says 100. There are probably more that I’m forgetting to add.

I’m not going to tag anyone in specific, since most of the blogs I follow have already done it, but feel free to do this tag if you want!

What books are on your TBR list? And which ones do you plan on reading in 2015? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “The To Be Read Tag

  1. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award Number 4!!! | Justina Luther~ Welcome to My Imagination

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

