Beautiful People- January 2015


This month, I’m going to be linking up with Beautiful People from Paper Fury! Beautiful People is a link up interview for authors and their characters. This month’s link up focuses on the author and their experiences with writing. Enjoy!

BeautifulPeople

1. How many years have you been writing? When did you officially consider yourself a ‘writer’?

I’ve been writing as long as I could hold a pencil. When I was younger, I like to write short anecdotes about dragons, and plays for my cousins and brother and I to perform. I also had my brother dictate stories to me, which I would then type out for him, along with my own small revisions. Okay, there were a lot of revisions. Same difference.

I didn’t really call myself a writer until sixth grade, when I had a sudden realization- if you can write, then you’re a writer.

Shocking, I know.

2. How/why did you start writing?

Because I liked telling stories and I didn’t like worrying about trivial things like whether or not something was actually possible.

Actually, I still write for the same reasons, and one additional one- I don’t like talking to people, but I want to change the world. Problem solved!

3. What’s your favorite part of writing?

Killing off characters.

Just kidding. Sort of. It is the characters that I really enjoy, though. The chance to stand in someone else’s shoes- and the ability to create something new out of nothing. It’s as close to magic as I’m ever going to get.
4. What’s your biggest writing struggle?

I have quite a bit of trouble with structure, especially in novels. I hope to work on that, though, and I feel like I’m getting better.

But, I mean, learning to write- learning any craft, in fact- is a never ending journey. There’s always room for improvement.

5. Do you write best at night or day?

I’ve never tried writing at night (although I’d like to, at some point). Generally speaking, though, I’m a morning person, as long as I got enough sleep the night before.

You really don’t want to see me when I haven’t had enough sleep. It’s scary.

6. What does your writing space look like? (Feel free to show us pictures!)

Eh. It’s not all that exciting. The corner of our couch (the comfiest spot), next to the end table, with my Chromebook and a pillow on my lap. Usually earbuds as well so that I can run Pandora in the background.

7. How long does it typically take you to write a complete draft?

For a novel? I can manage a first draft in a month. Actually, if I stretch it out too much longer than that, I usually end up dropping the project. Revisions take me quite a bit longer.

Short stories I can finish in about a month, maybe less, including revision time.
8. How many projects do you work on at once?

One novel. Maybe two, max. I can write multiple short stories as well.
9. Do you prefer writing happy endings, sad ones, or somewhere in between?

Whatever fits the story. I hate it when authors stretch too far to make a happy ending, and (hopefully) I avoid that in my own writing. Sometimes you need a sad ending- and other times, a happy one. As I said, it depends on the story.

That doesn’t make the sad ones any easier to deal with, though.

EveryoneYouLove

10. List a few authors who’ve influenced your writing journey.

JK Rowling, Malinda Lo, and Rick Riordan have hugely impacted my writing. There’s a hint of Terry Pratchett in the humor, as well.

Discworld

11. Do you let people read your writing? Why or why not?

I haven’t in the past, at least not until it’s finished, and even then it’s hard. I want to make a good impression, y’know? Especially my family and friends. With my latest novel, though, I do have a couple of beta readers to help me out with the editing. It’s hard for me to share my writing, especially when it’s so unpolished, but it’s also helpful to get feedback.
12. What’s your ultimate writing goal or dream?

I want to publish a book (or two, or three, or four, or five, or maybe a hundred), and I want people to read it, and in the end, I want to make an impact on the world.
13. If you didn’t write, what would you want to do?

Wait

Is this a trick question? How would I not write?

I guess I would read?

14. Do you have a book you’d like to write one day but don’t feel you’re ready to attempt it yet?

Yes. A biography of one of the most awesome people to ever exist.

Me.

BigEgo

Okay, serious answer now. I have a lot of ideas that I don’t feel ready to execute, but not a book. And no, I’m not going to share. #sorrynotsorry

15. Which story has your heart and won’t let go?

Show Me a Hero, my current WIP. I love everything about it- superheroes, girl power, moral dilemmas, and corrupt government systems. A lot of my passions when it comes to writing. The writing has also really improved since before, so that’s nice. I can go back and read it without cringing every other word.

I hope you enjoyed! Which of your writing projects are you most passionate about? And are you participating in Beautiful People this month?

5 thoughts on “Beautiful People- January 2015

    • I agree 🙂 It’s beautiful to see them grow and develop into their own people.

      It was admittedly only for NaNoWriMo, and didn’t involve editing time.

      And thank you!

  1. Pingback: Monthly Recap | Stay and Watch the Stars

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

