My Life Through Books Tag


I was tagged to do this by Horse Feathers (who also created it, I believe). Enjoy!

Books

Baby: Did you like to read when you were little?

Yeah, I’ve always loved reading (I thank my amazing parents instilling a love of reading in me at a young age). I didn’t really get into reading until I’d read Harry Potter, though, at which point my love of books skyrocketed.

ILoveIt

Toddler: What was your favorite picture book?

I… don’t remember. I had a lot, though. I think Goodnight Moon was one of my favorites. Apparently I would make my dad read it to me over and over again.

GoodnightMoon

Child: Did you go through/are in a book ‘phase’? (Like reading the thickest books, reading all of an author’s books etc.)

Yes, and a lot of them. I had a Harry Potter phase, a Guardians of Ga’Hoole/ Kathryn Lasky phase, a Warriors phase, and many more. Currently? I’m having a bit of a Marvel comics and YA phase.

GaHoole

Tween: What books made/make you feel grown up?

A couple of them. I think the most important one was The Trumpet of the Swan, the first full length novel I ever read by myself. It was an accomplishment that I was really proud of at the time.

Teen: What are/where books that you rave/d about?

Again, there have been a lot of them. Ash by Malinda Lo, Cress by Marissa Meyer, and Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein are some of the big ones.

Adult: What are books that used to seem boring to you but now you really like?

The Lord of the Rings, believe it or not. It was really hard for me to push through at first. The only reason I actually read it was because my dad made me, and because I wanted to watch the movies. But once I finished the series, I loved it (especially The Return of the King). I’ve read it through two or three times now.

Legolas

Elderly: What book from your childhood and/or teen years that you still cherish?

The Harry Potter series, of course. And… let’s see. The Ranger’s Apprentice (one of the first fantasy series I read), The Princess Bride (which reminds me, I’d like to reread this one), the Warriors series, and The Trumpet of the Swan (again). Some of them (The Ranger’s Apprentice and Warriors) are a bit juvenile to me these days, but they’ll always have a special place in my heart.

I’m tagging: Science, Books, and Silly Things | Free as a Girl With Wings | A Hufflepuff’s Thoughts | Where the Books Never End | And anyone else who wants to do it! |

What books have stuck with you through life?

6 thoughts on “My Life Through Books Tag

  1. This tag is brilliant! My favourite childhood book was either the one about owls, the skeletons or the sleepy bear daddy who couldn’t find a comfy place to sleep in – oh and “we’re going on a bear hunt!”

    • Yeah, it was a lot of fun to do! 🙂 Feel free to do it on your own blog if you want. I don’t think I’ve read any of those, at least not recently enough to remember.

  2. Pingback: Monthly Recap | Stay and Watch the Stars

  3. Pingback: My Life Through Books Tag | Science, Books and Silly Things

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

