The Inside Out Book Tag


I was tagged to do this one by Musings from Neville’s Navel. I know I say this about pretty much every tag I do, but it looks like fun. The “inside out” thing comes from the fact that the first letter of each question makes the words “INSIDE OUT”.

Anyway, here ya go. I need a better way to start off posts than “enjoy”. It’s getting reaaaaally repetitive.


Inside flap / Back-of-the-book summaries: Too much info? Or not enough?

It depends on the book. Usually I just use the back cover pitch to decide whether it interests me, so it isn’t really a big deal how much information it has as long as it catches my eye. But the books that have, like, a one sentence pitch and then a bunch of random quotes from reviewers? No thanks.

New book: What form do you want it in? Be honest: audio book, e-book, paperback, or hardcover?

That’s… a really difficult question for me, so I’ll try to narrow it down. I can’t stand audiobooks, so they’re out (I’m a fast reader, and audiobooks seem to go on forever). I’m not as gentle as I should be with my books, so paperbacks don’t last long. I guess it’s down to hardbacks and e-books. E-books are definitely the more practical option for traveling and stuff (especially when you’re a fast reader), but they need charged pretty regularly and don’t beat the feeling of having a real hard copy of a book. So… I guess I’m going with hardcovers.

Scribble while you read? Do you like to write in your books, taking notes, making comments, or do you keep your books clean clean clean?

Not usually. Aside from occasional food stains (I read while I eat sometimes), my books stay pretty clean. Lately I’ve had to mark up my books and annotate for a class at school, so I’ve learned to get past that and write in them now and then. Even if my annotations are usually closer to snide comments than scholarly observations. Ahem. Moving on.

In your best voice, read for us your favorite first sentence from a book.

I… don’t know what my favorite first sentence is. That would mean digging through all the books on my shelves to find one and honestly I’m too lazy to do that. Plus I would feel bad if I picked one and then posted this and then realized there was one that I liked better. And it’s like playing favorites, too.

Shrug3

Does it matter to you whether the author is male or female when you’re deciding on a book? What if you’re unsure of the author’s gender?

No. Not at all, really. If it sounds interesting, then I’ll read it. If it’s a good book, then it’s a good book. Lately I’ve been searching out books with a feminist slant to them, though, which means that I’ve also been reading more books by female authors. But it’s still not based on the gender of the author, it’s based on the content.

Ever read ahead? Or have you ever read the last page way before you got there?

NO. Are you telling me that people actually does this? It ruins the story! It takes away all the suspense! WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT?

Ew

I’ll never understand some people.

Organized bookshelves, or outrageous bookshelves?

Only by size. The bigger picture books are on the taller shelves at the bottom, while novels go on the shorter shelves at the top, and the handful of comics that I actually own get shoved wherever they’ll fit. I’d like to organize further sometime- maybe by author- but I don’t have the time at the moment.

Under oath: Have you ever bought a book based on the cover alone?

Not as far as I can remember, assuming that the back/inside cover doesn’t count. I love to admire pretty book covers, but I wouldn’t read something just because the cover is nice. Probably not, at least.

Take it outside to read, or stay in?

Nah. I prefer the indoors with comfy blankets, pillows, and heating/air conditioning. I can never get comfortable when I read outside, whereas inside I can curl up under my blankets with an iPod and maybe a cat.


I’m not going to tag anyone in particular this time, but if you want to do it, feel free to! I’m off to go watch the new-ish episode of Agent Carter (Which, btw, you can watch without Cable on the ABC website. And you really need to do that. They’re taking the first episode off in a few days, so you’d better hurry).

3 thoughts on “The Inside Out Book Tag

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: February 2015 | Stay and Watch the Stars

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

