Beautiful People: February 2015


Beautiful People is a link up created by Paper Fury and Further Up and Further In to get to know your characters and books better. It’s also a monthly feature on Stay and Watch the Stars! This month’s theme is a special Valentine’s day edition to discuss couples in your book.

Shipping

I’m going to be discussing the most significant couple in my current WIP, Show Me a Hero (which I haven’t worked on in several weeks now… whoops). They’re two of the three main characters (it’s an ensemble cast), Melanie Brooks and Ada Herris (although their names are both pretty tentative).

Anyway, let’s get started!

BeautifulPeople

1. How long have they been a couple?

Ada and Melanie met about a year before the book takes place, when Ada was sixteen and Melanie fifteen. They dated briefly before events beyond their control forced them apart. Their reunion and Melanie’s struggle to sort out her feelings for Ada after living on the streets for months are a pretty major subplot of the story.

2. How did they first meet?

They knew each other, more or less, from glimpses in the hall and such, for quite a while, but they didn’t really get together until after a school dance in their sophomore year. Melanie’s boyfriend had left her for another girl the day before, but she, being the stubborn person that she is, showed up anyway, intending to dance with friends and have fun anyway. She met Ada. They danced, they had fun, and, by the end of the night, they fell for each other.

3. What were their first thoughts of each other? (Love at first sight or “you’re freakishly annoying”?)

They had pretty different social circles before they really met and got to know each other at the dance. Melanie preferred to spend time with the cheerleaders and queen bees, while Ada liked to hang out with her fellow misfits. They didn’t know each other all that well, and they didn’t feel the need to.
4. What do they do that most annoys each other?

Ada hates Melanie’s tendency to rush off into danger without anything resembling a plan.

TwelvePercent

Melanie, on the other hand, is very annoyed by the fact that Ada likes to hog all of the popcorn while they’re watching movies.
5. Are their personalities opposite or similar?

They’re opposite in some ways and similar in others. Melanie started in a bad place and worked her way up in the social ladder from there, always struggling to fit in. Ada was the daughter of two wealthy socialites and respected scientists, but she hated the reputation that they left for her to hold up and rebelled in any way possible.

Over the year before the book takes place, though, they went through some pretty bad things- and faced them together, in the end.

6. How would their lives be different without each other?

Melanie probably would’ve never come to terms with her family or her new life with powers, while Ada would’ve continued her life in grief and never reconnected with her father.

In the end, they probably wouldn’t be nearly as happy. They’d be stuck in the same bad places that they were when the book starts, and they’d be there alone.
7. Are they ever embarrassed of each other?

Frequently. Melanie is overly bubbly and friendly, even to strangers, while Ada is quite the opposite. They’re still close, though.
8. Does anyone disapprove of their relationship?

Plenty of people. Parents. Friends. Teachers. But they get through it together.
9. Do they see their relationship as long-term/leading to marriage?

At the start of the story, neither of them really dares to look that far into the future. But by the end? Yes, I think so. Unfortunately,”long term relationships” don’t really last long when you’re in the superhero business.

10. If they could plan the “perfect outing” together, where would they go?

Somewhere quiet, peaceful, and private. Preferably free of supervillains. It wouldn’t need to be for long. Just somewhere where they can relax and spend time together. I feel like they’d want it to be somewhere cutesy and romantic and sentimental, too. Somewhere with beautiful sunsets. They both love those things- the difference is that Melanie is far, far more likely to admit it.

AloneTogether2

Which of your characters do you ship? And do you have any questions about mine?

10 thoughts on “Beautiful People: February 2015

  1. Ooooh great post!! omg, I do adore this couple. And I haven’t read much LGBT couples, so seeing that represented is sehr cool. For the first time (I’ve read pretty much all the link-ups, although I haven’t checked today) I see in Q8 that lots of people disapprove, which is quite realistic. A lot of the others have less friction, much more happy-skipping-over-the-rainbow!! Haha XD That Guardians of the Galaxy gif had me cracking up. So funny.

    Do you have other posts on this story? I want to find out more! Yay superhero stories. :3 *dancing*

    Also, it’s been about a month since the TBR Smash challenge begun. Is you challenge going well? What have you read? (I’ve done pretty badly this month, LOL, not even gonna lie.) I started a TBR Smash Goodreads group. I should’ve done that before. But anyway I hope it helps.

    • Thank you! They’re a lot of fun to write for, so I’m glad you like them as well 😀 Melanie and Ada are actually the first LGBT+ couple I’ve ever written (in a novel, at least- I have had a couple in short stories). That’s interesting that a lot of people don’t approve of the relationships, but I definitely get it. I love writing couples that are a little more realistic and less skipping over the rainbow… I’ve found that I’m better at writing those sorts of stories.

      I don’t think I’ve written any other posts about this novel, but I do have a page on it (Show Me a Hero, under the ‘writing’ tab). It’s a little outdated, but it still has the gist of the plot and characters 🙂

      I… haven’t been doing as well with the challenge as I should have 😛 I’ve read a couple, though- We Were Liars was one of them. I’ll definitely be joining the group!

      • Hi again Bridget – sorry, I’m a little annoyed because I didn’t receive a google alert that you’d replied. I usually do. >=/

        Anyway – thanks, I will check out that page!

    • It’s a lot of fun to write! I love including my passions in my writing, and I love superheroes, so this story is a lot of fun to write 🙂 I like writing and reading LGBT+ as well. It’s really nice to see a bit of variety in romance.

      Good luck with your writing as well!

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: February 2015 | Stay and Watch the Stars

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

