The Reader Problems Book Tag


ReaderProblemsThanks to Books, Tea, and a Onesie for tagging me in this! I’ve actually been meaning to do this one for a while, since it looks like a lot of fun. I really love tags.

You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

Usually it’s just whatever I’m most excited about. On one hand, that makes it a little easier to read through my GINORMOUS TBR pile. But then, on the other hand, it tends to result in the books I’m not ALL that excited about repeatedly being pushed down to the bottom. There are plenty of books I’d really like to read, but I’m just not super psyched about them, so I just keep forgetting to read them. Sometimes it has more to do with practicality, though- like if my library just bought a copy of a book that I wanted to read, then I’d most likely borrow it, even if it wasn’t that high of a priority to read it.

You’re halfway through a book and just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

This honestly doesn’t happen very often. I usually look into books pretty closely to make sure I’m interested, so it’s a pretty rare occurrence when I stumble across a book that I don’t like. If it does happen, though, I usually ignore it for a while before I decide to just hurry up and read it so I can start something new.

The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

Odds are that I would probably change my goal to something new that was still a stretch but also reasonable. That’s not cheating… is it?

Shrug3

The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

I really almost never buy books, I just get them from the library. But when I do buy books, this happens pretty often, because I buy series one book at a time, not all together. It’s really frustrating, but, I mean, my bookshelf is already a disorganized mess (it’s ORGANIZED CHAOS, okay?) so it honestly isn’t that big of a deal. In a way, they match by not matching.

Everyone and their mother love a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

Usually I can find SOMEONE who doesn’t like it, whether they be a fellow blogger or someone at school. And this one happens a lot. I usually just don’t get a lot of the hyped up YA books, especially The Maze Runner. I mean… it was okay, but it wasn’t in any way great? It didn’t have the cultural relevance of The Hunger Games or the beautiful prose of The Fault in Our Stars (neither of which I particularly like at the moment). But anyway, back on topic… I’d probably just discuss WHY I didn’t like it with a like minded person.

You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I don’t cry very easily, especially over books. But… I dunno… if it theoretically happened, then  I would probably just keep my head down and blink really quickly to get rid of the tears.

A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!

THE ETERNAL DILEMMA OF MY LIFE. This happens all the time. Usually I go back and reread the first book, especially if the sequel is one I’m really excited about (like House of Hades). If it’s one that I’m not all that excited about it, then I’ll just jump right into the sequel and try to figure it out as I go. My memory is somewhat decent, so usually I can piece things together with a couple of hints.

You do not want anyone. ANYONE. Borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

HaHaNo

This. This is all there is to it.

In third grade I let a “friend” borrow my copy of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. She said that she would give it back before summer break started. She never brought it back. Needless to say, we’re not friends any more. I mean, okay, that’s probably more because I switched schools the next year and less because she never brought my book back, but I’m still upset about it. And I’m probably never going to let someone borrow one of my books again.

You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

Usually I just keep looking until I find a book that I do really like. Sometimes it takes several tries, but I always eventually get out of the slump. I’ve found that thrillers and edge-of-your-seat type books are best for getting over reading slumps, since they’re so hard to put down.

There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

Usually? None. Most of the books I own were gifts and/or are ones I’ve had for a really long time. I almost never buy books (as I think I mentioned before). I just get them from the library, even if it takes a really long time and a lot of waiting. Sometimes I’ll buy a book if I really want to own it, but not very often.

After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

As long as it takes me to finish whatever book I’m already reading, which is usually a couple days, maybe a week or two if I’m in a reading slump. I can’t read two novels at once, but I can manage, say, a novel, a comic book, and a literary magazine (Cicada, anyone?) just fine.

I’m not going to tag anyone, but feel free to do this if you want! It was a lot of fun to do, so you definitely should.

Wink

6 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Book Tag

    • Yeah, after I do so much research deciding whether or not to read it, I usually don’t end up not liking it. My mom is always getting on my case about my bookshelf because it looks like such a mess, but I know where everything it, and that’s what matters, right? I love Cicada as well. I just started getting it this year and it’s really good.

      I know 😀 I’ve been waiting for an opportunity to use that one.

  1. I can empathize with you on that “borrowed” book. Once upon a time, one of my “friends” borrowed one of my books and never brought it back. When I asked him about it the next year, he said that he was still reading it. Granted, it was over a thousand pages, but it shouldn’t take THAT long to finish a book. I’m sure “still reading it” was code for “I lost it.”

    • Yeah, it really stinks 😛 Luckily we were able to find a used copy on Amazon with the same cover. And what’s weird is that I called her multiple times that summer about what happened to the book and she never even called me back.

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: March 2015 | Stay and Watch the Stars

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

