The Chocolate Book Tag


ChocolateBookTag

Thanks to Musings From Neville’s Navel for tagging me in this one! It looks like a lot of fun, and it combines two of the best things in the world- chocolate and books!

Squee2

ViciousDark chocolate: A book that covers a dark topic

There are plenty of them, but I think I’m going to go with Vicious by VE Schwab because wow that was a dark book. It was all about how power corrupts, what happens when people take it upon themselves to be the judge and the jury, and whether the lesser evil counterbalances the greater evil (didn’t word that as well as I could have, but oh well). Basically, a dark book, totally full of moral dilemmas and stuff like that (which I love). It’s a fantastic story, though. Definitely worth a read.

White chocolate: Your favorite lighthearted/humorous read

(White chocolate isn’t real chocolate, y’all. But oh well.)DiaryOfAWimpyKid

It’s slightly embarrassing, but… I really do love the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books. I’ve loved them for a while now- my fifth and sixth grade teachers both had all of the books that were out at that point sitting on a shelf in the back of the classroom, and if I finished my work early (which I often did), I would go read one of them because they were funny and only took me about half an hour to read. They’ve always been a bit of a guilty pleasure series for me- at first I  would even hide them under my desk because people were used to me reading big huge novels that doubled the weight of my backpack- but eventually I got over that, and now I read them more or less shamelessly. They’re so funny! They make me laugh every time, even if they’re just a teensy bit juvenile.

FairestMilk chocolate: A book with a lot of hype that you’re dying to read

Fairest by Marissa Meyer- I know, shame on me, I haven’t read it yet. I really, really love The Lunar Chronicles, but Queen Levana always struck me as a rather flat villain. It was strange, considering how well developed the other characters were. So I was super excited to hear that Queen Levana was getting her own novella because character development! Yay! And I’ve hear such good things about it, too- the way that it gives Levana motivation without taking away her creepiness and evilness. An impressive feat. I’d really love to read, I just need to wait until I can get a copy from my library.

Chocolate with a caramel center: A book that made you feel all gooey in the middle EleanorAndParkwhile you read it

I always feel gooey inside, technically speaking. I mean, I have organs, right? They’re pretty gooey.

OrgansSwishSwish

OrgansSwishSwishPart2

But okay, serious answer now. One book that I got super fangirly over was Eleanor and Park. It’s suuuuper cute and fluffy but it’s also far more relatable (for me, at least) than other teen romance novels. Both of the protagonists are nerdy, love comic books and punk rock, and are pretty insecure. It’s nice to read a romance novel (or any novel, really) where you can actually see yourself in the main character’s shoes, and that’s something that doesn’t happen for me often. Also Eleanor and Park are such a perfect couple. I couldn’t help but fangirl a little.

WeWereLiarsWafer Free Kit Kat: A book that has surprised you recently

…Wafer Free Kit Kat? That’s a thing that actually exists? But… doesn’t that totally defeat the purpose of a Kit Kat? i’m so confused right now. Why would you do that? Isn’t it just regular milk chocolate?…

Still confused about that. But anyway, We Were Liars was a pretty big surprise. After hearing so many good things about it, I expected a lot. And, I mean, I still liked it. The plot twist really was amazing, but the rest of the book was super mediocre and not really all that impressive. It was okay, I guess. Just not even close to what I thought it would be. It was pretty disappointing, to be honest. I’d probably have liked it better if I’d gone in without the expectations that I did.

Snickers: A book you’re going nuts aboutOtherbound

There… honestly aren’t any lately. I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump. I am about halfway through Otherbound, though, and it’s been super awesome so far! The story is amazing, and I really love Amara’s world- it’s so, so interesting. And the book is also super diverse! One of the two main characters is disabled (he has a prosthetic leg), I don’t think there’s been a single white main character as of yet, and I’m pretty sure Amara is bisexual. It’s always pleasant when you find a book like that, and it doesn’t happen very often. It really emphasizes how so many YA books lack diversity. Anway, you should all definitely read it because I’m really liking it so far.

HarryPotterHot chocolate with cream and marshmallows: A book that you would turn to for a comfort read

The Harry Potter books, no question! Especially The Sorcerer’s Stone, since it’s so much more lighthearted than the other books. The series has been by my side for a long time, and I’m sure it will be by my side for years to come.


I’m not tagging anyone in particular, but if you’re reading this (and you have a blog), consider yourself tagged!

One thought on “The Chocolate Book Tag

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: March 2015 | Stay and Watch the Stars

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

