My Hero Monday: Marina and the Diamonds


My Hero Monday is a monthly blog link up hosted by Chloe @ The Book Hugger. In the words of its creator, “it celebrates female heroes in our society, and promotes learning about new heroes.” If you want to participate next month (and I highly encourage you to do so), there’s a link at the bottom of this post.

This month was unthemed, so I decided to go with one of my favorite musicians, Marina and the Diamonds!

MyHeroMonday

Marina Diamandis

AKA Marina and the Diamonds- her stage name. “Diamonds” refers to her fans.

MarinaAndTheDiamonds

{Website} {Twitter} {YouTube} {Instagram}

Date of Birth: October 10, 1985

School(s): Haberdasher’s Monmouth School for Girls and the University of East London

When did I first hear about her?: I think it was when How to be a Heartbreaker popped up in an 8tracks playlist I was listening to, although I’m not entirely sure. I do know that it was through 8tracks, though. Anyway, I heard a couple of her songs and I was hooked almost right away.

What makes her one of my heroes?:

A lot of Marina’s music revolves around girl power and being yourself.

Sex Yeah is a very good example of this- it discusses double standards, and encourages the listener to question everything, especially society.

If history could set you free (from who you were supposed to be)
If sex in our society (didn’t tell a girl who she would be)
‘Cause all my life I’ve tried to fight what history has given me

If women were religiously
Recognized sexually
We wouldn’t have to feel the need to show our ***,
It’s to feel free

I Am Not a Robot is another one with a really amazing message- it’s about realizing that you don’t need to hide away and act like everything is okay, even when it’s not.

You’ve been acting awful tough lately
Smoking a lot of cigarettes lately
But inside, you’re just a little baby, oh.
It’s okay to say you’ve got a weak spot
You don’t always have to be on top
Better to be hated than loved for what you’re not

Oh No! (one of my all time favorite songs) is about ambition and wanting to make change in the world, but also about having insecurities and being terrified of failure. It’s really heartfelt and relatable- to me, at least.

I know exactly what I want and who I want to be
I know exactly why I walk and talk like a machine
I’m now becoming my own self-fulfilled prophecy

One track mind, one track heart
If I fail, I’ll fall apart
Maybe it is all a test
Cause I feel like I’m the worst
So I always act like I’m the best

Marina encourages people to be whoever they want to be, not what other people tell them they should be, something that I feel is really important. And she realizes that there’s nothing unfeminist about being feminine! As she said in an interview, (with a minor word substitution)

Am I feminist, though? Heck yes. But even with feminism it’s not about being independent the whole time. There’s nothing wrong with being a housewife.

Also, her music video for How to be a Heartbreaker is a hilariously ironic twist on the sexualization of women in music videos.

Quote(s):

I consider myself a feminist because I believe women should have equal rights. Of course. It’s just that the term feminism conjures up other things for people.Women are afraid to say they’re a feminist. It’s crazy.

Even when I see a beautiful woman, I think, ‘Aw, her life must be amazing.’ Everyone does it. That’s human nature- to believe that beauty is everything.

I criticized the whole American songwriting industry and the pop side of it and I was bitter about it. And I stepped back and thought ‘Why are you bitter? You can’t just stand there like every other indie musician and criticize this so-called ‘generic’ music when you’re not doing anything to challenge that.’

Music is my 90% of my life and my biggest passion. I really don’t have an interest in anything else.

I feel like everyone has the right to privacy, even if you’re the most famous person in the world.

I’ve always been interested in how fast-moving our identity is and that I’ve never been able to pin down who I truly am. That inspires me to write, because I feel like that cements me a bit, in that I find my identity in being an artist.

You have to be your biggest believer.

If you’re making too many excuses for someone, agonising over them in a way which takes up all your waking thoughts and feel so nervous around them you could be sick, then they are probably the wrong person.

There’s no one particular road that will lead you to success. I think everybody will find it differently.

What I hate is that not many people admit to having a big ego, but you have to – and there’s nothing wrong with it.

I don’t just want to sing about simplistic things all the time. It’s good to have a mix of songs that have a real depth, and that provoke and challenge people, and then songs that are fun and people can enjoy.

Schedule:

March 2: Appletail @ Twist in the Tail

March 9: Chloe @ The Book Hugger

March 16: Bridget @ Stay and Watch the Stars

March 23: Engie @ Musings From Neville’s Navel

March 30: Wrap-up by Chloe

9 thoughts on “My Hero Monday: Marina and the Diamonds

  1. Pingback: My Hero Monday Wrap-Up: March 2015 - The Book HuggerThe Book Hugger

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: March 2015 | Stay and Watch the Stars

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

