The Book Lover’s Questionnaire Tag


Many thanks to Horse Feathers for tagging me in this!

BookLover

Do you have a specific place for reading?

I’m not really all that picky, but I do have two spaces that I especially like. One of them is on my bed… mostly just because it’s familiar and comfy. The other on our couch. There’s this perfect spot in the corner where I can lean back on the cushy partย and also prop up my arms on both sides so it’s really nice for reading and writing. And there’s an end table right next to me for tea and stuff.

Comfy

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

It used to be random pieces of paper, but I’ve luckily gotten back into the habit of using actual bookmarks. My brother, on the other hand, will use anything nearby, including blankets and other books.

Can you stop anywhere in a book or do you have to finish the chapter?

Usually I’m fine with just stopping in the middle of the chapter. I have a somewhat decent memory so I can usually figure out where I left off pretty quickly. Sometimes I’ll use needing to finish the chapter as an excuse to finish reading, though.

OneMorePage

Music or TV while reading?

I can’t focus with the TV on, especially if it’s something that I enjoy. Sometimes if it’s really bad then I can read, but that’s about it. I do listen to music while I’m reading, though. I’m almost always listening to music, honestly.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

Yes. Usually just a glass of water and a bowl of Goldfish or something (I freaking love Goldfish). I also read while I eat sometimes. A lot of my older books, like Harry Potter, have food stains on the pages from that, but over the years I’ve gotten better at it and by now I can almost always keep my books clean when I read while eating.

One book at a time or several?

I can only read one novel at a time without getting distracted, but I can read books of different genres and still keep them all straight in my head. Usually I’m reading a novel, a comic book, and a nonfiction book at basically any given time. Sometimes I just need to tell myself “okay, no more comics until you finish this novel” but I mean I can usually read several books at a time as long as they’re different genres.

Reading at home or elsewhere?

I’m kind of easily distracted unless I’m SUPER into whatever I’m doing at the moment, so it’s usually easier for me to focus when I’m at home and have a stable work environment.

Squirrel

Read out loud or silently?

I absolutely loathe reading out loud. I have a bit of a stutter (one of the many reasons why I love drama and acting- I know exactly what to say and so I don’t stutter) and so reading out loud is always kind of awkward, especially if I’m reading it for the first time. Reading in my head just feels more comfortable, you know?

Do you read ahead or skip pages?

Never

But seriously. I never, ever read ahead. It ruins the book.

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I always crack the spine. It’s one of my worst habits with books and I’d really like to stop doing it, but I can never figure out how to comfortably read a paperbackย withoutย cracking the spine.

Do you write in your books?

I tried doing it once in third grade and I felt so horrible afterwards and up until recently I’d never done it again. Now I have to do it for certain school assignments and write annotations in my books (although they usually end up less like “scholarly notes” and more like “snide comments”). I kind of enjoy it, really, but I still doubt that I’d do it unless I had to.

I’m not tagging anyone in particular, but feel free to do this if you want to!

16 thoughts on “The Book Lover’s Questionnaire Tag

    • Alright, that’s fine!
      It’s so frustrating, but I also don’t want to stop reading while I eat ๐Ÿ˜› Just think about it this way- it’ll make your books look more well loved.

  1. omg. YOU EAT GOLDFISH? How dare you attack innocent fish swimming unsuspecting in aquariums? 0.0

    Hahaha, kidding xD I love eating Goldfish while reading too! Yeah, i often use random pieces of paper while reading as well. I usually don’t have the heart to get up and actually USE that pretty bookmark I bought months ago.

    Lovely post, Bridget โค I may just do this tag!

    • Yeah, I’m the same way! If I have a bookmark on hand, then I’ll try to use that, but if there isn’t one nearby then I usually just use a piece of paper. I’m better about it than my brother, though.
      Thank you! And that would be awesome ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Don’t kill me! I tend to read ahead a little… People that know how to read a book without bending the spine, please come to comment 13 to help the poor unfortunate souls that have yet to learn the secret. Sharing’s caring, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: March 2015 | Stay and Watch the Stars

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

