The Addictive Blog Award


Thank you so much to Clockwork Desires for nominating me for the Addictive Blog Award!

ThankYouAddictiveBlogAward

The rules:

  • Thank the person awarding you.
  • Share a little about why you blog and how the journey started.
  • Paste the blog award on your page.
  • Nominate 10 other bloggers you feel deserve the award.

A brief history of my blogging experience and Stay and Watch the Stars:

I think I first started blogging around fifth or sixth grade. I’d mulled over the idea of starting a website or blog at this point, and my mom said that she would help me as long as I came up with a theme for the blog on my own. So, after a bit of thinking, I decided that I would blog about one of my biggest obsessions at the time- wolves! Thus began wolvesforkids.blogspot.com (Or maybe it was wolves4kids? I don’t really remember.) I would post basically anything that had to do with wolves. Mostly conservation news and such, along with a handful of (really terrible) wolf book and movie reports. I also compiled a bunch of websites and pictures and such. Even if the writing wasn’t all that great, it was pretty impressive for a sixth grader, if I do say so myself.

Smug

A little while later, I started trying out a couple of different blogs, but I never really got as into them as I was with Wolves For Kids. Even so, I dropped the project a little while later and kind of forgot about blogging for a while.

Unfortunately, Wolves for Kids was deleted when my mom deactivated her Blogger account (I’d been doing it through hers).

Later on, (still in sixth grade, though) I started a blog called Noveling at TwelveΒ (through my own Blogger account). It was basically just a bunch of writing advice that I compiled in short little posts. It was all really simplistic, but it was nice and to the point, which I am rather proud of. And it was mostly good, solid advice!

But after a while, I decided that Noveling at Twelve still wasn’t really what I was looking for. So, while still maintaining Noveling at Twelve, I started Nerds Inc (creative title, huh?), an unthemed blog where I could post basically whatever. Unfortunately, Nerds Inc went on a bit of a downward slope as I posted nothing but random pictures that I found funny (the stuff that I usually now use Pinterest to keep track of). So, for about a year, Nerds Inc was really nothing but a meme blog.

I later decided that I wanted to turn in the direction of a book blog instead, so I deleted all my posts and started over with (sloppily written) more original, longer posts.

But even that wasn’t quite right! I didn’t get it. I’d tried a billion different things and none of them really worked out.

Confused

About six months ago, I decided that Blogspot wasn’t really giving me what I wanted in terms of the ability to communicate with my followers because, let’s face it, it’s a really crappy platform when it comes to communication. It’s nice and simple, and the ability to go in and edit the css/ html without paying is nice, but it’s still frustratingly difficult to actually see who’s following you and stuff.

So that’s when I started Stay and Watch the Stars! It’s been a long journey of trial and error, but (at least for now) I’m quite happy with where I’m at.

Nominations:

  1. A Hufflepuff’s Thoughts
  2. A Twist in the Taile
  3. The Book Hugger
  4. Where the Books Never End
  5. Galloping Free
  6. Horse Feathers
  7. Musings from Neville’s Navel
  8. Books, Science, and Silly Things
  9. The Writing Hufflepuff
  10. 52 letters in the alphabet
19 thoughts on “The Addictive Blog Award

  1. Congratulations for getting nominated! It was really fascinating to find out more about your experience with blogging! Thanks for nominating me and I’ll hopefully get round to putting the post up shortly! xx

  2. Wow, you went through a lot of blogs! I’m glad you’re happy with this current one. πŸ™‚

    • It was okay at first when I didn’t really worry all that much about interaction with my followers, but in the end it got really frustrating and I needed to switch.

  3. Thanks for nominating me (:
    I used to be on blogger, the customization is great but everything else is better on WordPress… At least that’s my opinion.

  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: April 2015 | Stay and Watch the Stars

  5. Pingback: My Blog is Addictive! | A Hufflepuff's Thoughts

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

