Future Hearts by All Time Low (Album Review)


I’ve reviewed novels, I’ve reviewed comics, I’ve reviewed movies, and now I’m going to try something new- reviewing albums! I’ll be briefly looking at each song individually, share some of my favorite lyrics, and then do a short review of the album overall. So, first up is Future Hearts by All Time Low, which was released on April 7, 2015 (a couple of weeks ago).

FutureHeartsStream the album on YouTube

Satellite is a really beautiful, slow song- much slower than most of the songs on the album. It has a cute but also very bittersweet, reminiscent feel to it. The lyrics are a bit repetitive, but it really fits the feel of the song and actually has a good effect on the song overall, not a bad one. Although it’s somewhat misleading toward the rest of the album, Satellite is a really lovely song that puts a very clear image in my mind- starry nights and bittersweet memories.

Wishing on a star that’s just a satellite, driving in a car with broken taillights, growing up with eyes glowed shut.

After the slow, reminiscent feel of Satellite, Kicking and Screaming is a bit of a jolt with its aggressive instrumentals and lyrics. It’s one of those songs that makes you want to jump up and dance around like you’re in a music video (or maybe that’s just me?). The instrumentals are very powerful in this one. Kicking and Screaming stylistically feels like a combination of Don’t Panic and Nothing Personal (two of All Time Low’s earlier albums, and I must say, I like it a lot. Kicking and Screaming makes a very nice counterbalance to Satellite, and is overall probably one of my favorite songs off of the album.

Say hello to all my little nightmares. They’re right here, I know them well.

Something’s Gotta Give, one of the singles off of the album, is a really enjoyable song. The intro is a lot like a faster version of the into to Satellite, except with a clearer sound. The lyrics I find especially touching in this one, and they touch a lot of the themes that tend to appear in All Time Low’s music a lot- trying to figure out who you are, feeling a little (or a lot) lost, and struggling with growing up. Although the sound is very different from the rest of the album, it touches on a lot of similar themes and is overall just a really enjoyable song.

I don’t even know myself. I wish I could be someone else, but I don’t have a clue at all.

SomethingsGottaGive

Kids in the Dark (the album’s second single) is a very dark song (something that becomes a lot clearer when accompanied by the music video)- but even so, it has a fun, catchy tune (something that I really enjoy musically). The lyrics are amazingly poetic, and as I said, the tune and beat are definitely the type to get stuck in your head. I feel like it really captures the feel of the album overall. Kids in the Dark is probably another one of my favorites.

I am left standing on the edge, wondering why we fall so hard. They left us alone, the kids in the dark, to burn out forever or light up a spark.

KidsInTheDark

Runaways is the album’s third single, and I feel like out of the three singles we have so far, it does the best job capturing the album overall. It’s a happier, more upbeat song than those I’ve discussed so far- a really cute love song that touches on the deeper themes of the album, like moving on and seizing the opportunity to take control of your own life. It’s a rather feel-good song, yet still not shallow as many other feel-good songs are.

Bury our toes where the ocean meets the sand, we’ll hide ourselves right where we stand.

Missing You is my favorite, favorite song off of this album. Although the lyrics are very dark and sad, it feels like a big warm hug. It’s a song about not giving up, and how important is to just keep going, no matter how hard it gets. It’s just so feel-good and comforting. The lyrics are positively lovely, near perfect, and the instrumentals and wonderful as well- the decision to use acoustic guitars instead of electrics was a very good choice.

Now don’t lose your fight, kid, it only takes a little push to pull on through. With so much left to do, you’ll be missing out and we’ll be missing you.

MissingYou

I don’t really have a whole lot to say about Cinderblock Garden, although I do feel like it’s another song that really captures the album- it really carries the themes of seizing the moment and trying to figure out who you want to be. It’s another cutesy love song with a deeper meaning between it, and stylistically, I really like it.

Let’s take the worst and make it better, take this mess and make it a home.

Tidal Waves, featuring Mark Hoppus of Blink 182, is another very strong song. Mark’s voice was an excellent addition, and sounded really nice with Alex (All Time Low’s lead singer) backing him. The feel of the song somehow manages to carry the feel of tidal waves, with its pulsing drum beats and guitars. The lyrics are also nice, although I wouldn’t say that they’re my favorites off of this album.

Tell me how you really feel, write it on the bathroom wall. If anyone was watching, I know you’d say nothing at all.

When I first heard Don’t You Go, I could have sworn that it was Simple Plan, not All Time Low. The intro is stylistically very different from All Time Low’s usual fare, and although the differences fade a little bit further in the song, it still sounds a lot like Simple Plan the whole way through. I do like it, though. It’s not really one of my favorites, but it is a very strong song, and has a very catchy tune.

Settle back now and raise a toast to the young ones growing old.

Bail Me Out, featuring Joel Madden of Good Charlotte, is kind of underwhelming in my opinion, when compared to the rest of the songs off of the album. However, Joel does a very good job with it- his voice is really well suited to this one. The vocals are nice, but the instrumentals are honestly a little bit dull and not as catchy as Don’t You Go or Runaways.

What can I do? I took it out on you. I run around and make a mess of everything. I made a big mistake and now I’m wondering, would you bail me out if I need it?

Dancing With a Wolf starts out sort of like Satellite, but the two are very different. While Satellite is slow and bittersweet, Dancing With a Wolf is, just as its title would suggest, very fast and aggressive. The lyrics are very serious and not exactly cheerful, but the music still has a very get-up-and-go feel to it. It’s definitely something that you could dance to. Although it doesn’t fit particularly well with the rest of the album, it’s still a very good song.

Fool me once, it’s shame on you. Fool me twice, and let the wolves come crashing through.

DancingWithAWolf

The Edge of Tonight is, just like Satellite, a very cute, laid back love song. It’s bittersweet and kinda sad, but still very hopeful about the future. After the aggressive tone to Dancing With a Wolf, The Edge of Tonight is a very nice change. The music itself is fantastic, with the vocals and instrumentals blending together beautifully. It’s not astoundingly unique, but it’s still very good and I quite like it.

I am tired, but with you on the horizon I will keep driving until it all breaks down.

EdgeOfTonight

Old Scars/ Future Hearts is another one of my favorites off of the album! I particularly like the lyrics, which are all beautiful and near perfect. It’s like a blend of Dancing With a Wolf and Edge of Tonight- a little bit aggressive, but not so much so as Dancing With a Wolf. I feel like it really captures the overall themes of the album, too (which I’ll be discussing in a moment).

Waking up just to catch yourself dreaming again, but you won’t think outside the lines that hold you in. You say it’s easier just to hide yourself away, to shut the windows, lock the doors, and disappear.

FutureHearts

Overall, Future Hearts is an amazing album. Although not all of the songs mesh perfectly, they’re very strong, and most of them (if not all) carry very similar themes of growing up, seizing the day, and taking control of your own life. The music is very fun usually, but still carries darker themes like anxiety and trying to figure out where you belong in the world. I wouldn’t say that it’s one of my all time favorite albums, but it is really great and has some very, very good songs included, such as Missing You, Something’s Gotta Give, and Old Scars/ Future Hearts.

4

FutureHearts2

Have you listened to All Time Low before? If not, has my review encouraged you to give them a shot? And if so, what are your favorite songs of theirs?

One thought on “Future Hearts by All Time Low (Album Review)

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: April 2015 | Stay and Watch the Stars

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

