Monthly Wrap Up: April 2015


Monthly Wrap Up is a monthly (duh) feature on Stay and Watch the Stars! It’s the place to find out what’s going on in my life, what I’ve read, what I’ve posted, and more! This one is a little late- sorry about that!

MonthlyWrapUp

What I Posted

Unfortunately, I took a major step back from posting with month. However, I did write a couple of posts.

I wrote about my experiences with stereotypes and labels in The World of Boxes.

I received the Versatile Blogger Award, the Creative Blogger Award, and the Addictive Blogger Award.

I did the 777 Challenge and the Social Media tag.

I reviewed Future Hearts by All Time Low and did a double feature review of Mila 2.0 and Beta.

Life

I was super busy this month, and I’m going to be even more so in May. I had a lot of work to do to prepare for my school’s upcoming drama and music showcase, so I had to do a lot of work for drama (we’re doing a bunch of different Shakespeare scenes) and band (I play flute). So I’ve been really busy, but it’s still been a lot of fun.

GetDownToBusiness

I also started playing ukulele! I’ve had a ukulele sitting in my room for a while now, but never really tried it. So I decided to pick it up again, and it’s a lot of fun! I’m trying to teach myself House of Gold by twenty one pilots.

HouseOfGold

I spent a lot of money at Hot Topic, which was sooo much fun. First time, I got a bunch of band and fandom t-shirts, and some bracelets and headbands and other cool stuff as well (I want the entire selection of Hot Topic’s hair bows!!!) and had a lot of fun. We went back more recently to use some coupons that we got, and I got a reaaally cute dress.

HotTopicDress

ISN’T IT ADORABLE?

I also got some bright blue/ turquoise hair dye for the summer! I still have a little purple left, so I’m going to use that up and then dye it blue. I’m also kinda-sorta considering cutting it short? I dunno.

AtomicTurquoise

Again, the picture’s not of me

After recommendations from a bunch of friends, I finally started watching Dan and Phil (two geeky British YouTubers who talk about stuff ranging from video games to the best varieties of lactose free milk).

DanAndPhil2

Anyway, to wrap things up on this part, I’d just like to let you all know that posts will probably be pretty sparse through May, as I’m going to be suuuper busy.

What I’m Listening to:

Bands: Imagine Dragons, PVRIS, Tonight Alive, twenty one pilots, All Time Low, My Chemical Romance, Fall Out Boy, Panic! at the Disco

Albums: White Noise (PVRIS), Vessel (twenty one pilots), Future Hearts (All Time Low), Night Visions (Imagine Dragons), pretty.odd (Panic! at the Disco)

Currently listening to: My House by PVRIS (I’ve been getting into more girl fronted bands lately and PVRIS is AMAZING!)

I feel you in these walls, you’re a cold air creeping in , chill me to my bones and skin

Newly released songs I love:

Tear in My Heart by twenty one pilots

Sometimes you’ve got to bleed to know that you’re alive and have a soul, but it takes someone to come around to show you how.

Runaways by All Time Low

We’re going down this road with tears in our rear view mirror. Far from home, but in the dark you know, with me you’ve got nothing to fear.

Stressed Out by twenty one pilots

I was told when I get older all my fears would shrink, but now I’m insecure and I care what people think.

Hallelujah by Panic! at the Disco

Then the time for being sad is over, and you miss them like you miss no other, and being blue is better than being over it.

What I Read This Month:

Well, first off, I FINALLY GOT THE FABULOUS KILLJOYS COMIC! It was absolutely amazing and definitely worth reading if you’re a fan of My Chemical Romance. Still worth reading otherwise, of course, but there’s a lot of worldbuilding to catch up on if you really want to get into the comic.

FabulousKilljoys2

IllGiveYouTheSunI also read I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson, which was an absolutely terrific bookItsOurProm about growing up, family, art, and a
tiny bit of mystery. It’s definitely highly recommended.

If I Stay by Gayle Foreman was very sad and, although not amazing, still quite good.

I’ve wanted to read It’s Our Prom (So Deal With It) for a while now, and finally got around to it. It was really good, and definitely worth reading!

I also reviewed Mila 2.0 and Beta. You can find links to the reviews above.

What books did you read this month? What music are you listening to? And what was your favorite post of mine? Is there anything you’d like to see more/ less of next month?

6 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up: April 2015

    • I know!!! I really liked Cherri Cola’s broadcasts (they sounded so pretty) and it was pretty cool to see more about Korse’s story as well. And Red and Blue were amazing characters! They were so cute together 😛 And the whole Phoenix Witch concept was awesome. Basically, I loved everything about it.

      Yeah, it’s a lot of fun 🙂 Sax looks cool as well, I’d kinda like to learn it someday.

      It is! Hot Topic is my favorite store ever. It’s pretty expensive, though, so a lot of my time there is spent drooling all over the stuff I can’t afford 😛

      • Korse’s story just made me so sad… ;_; Yes! Red and Blue were so awesome… but then our feels had to go be ruined again. 😦 I’d love to learn flute, but I seem to have a physical impossibility to blow across it XD
        Hahaha that’s the best thing to do at stores! ^-^

      • I know… I wasn’t really expecting to sympathize with him, but he turned out to be a pretty interesting character and had a really sad story! 😦 And Red and Blue’s story was so sad too!

        It takes a lot of practice 😛 I couldn’t do it for weeks, and I didn’t really learn how to do it well for years.

        Agreed!

    • If I do, then it would be a pixie cut 🙂 I’m still not sure, though. I still kinda like mey hair the way it is now, so at the moment I’m just kind of half considering it. It’s so cool that you’re going to do it! I love pixie cuts 🙂

      Yeah, it’s a lot of fun but also really exhausting :/

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

