Monthly Wrap Up: May 2015


Monthly Wrap Up is a monthly (duh) feature on Stay and Watch the Stars! It’s the place to find out what’s going on in my life, what I’ve read, what I’ve posted, and more!

MonthlyWrapUp

What I Posted:

I reviewed Avengers: Age of Ultron annnnd that was it. There’s a reason for the lack of posts, which I’ll get to in a second.

Life:

I’ve been reeeeally busy this month, what with finishing up school and all my extracurricular activities.

I finished my final for the drawing class that I was taking through the local college. It was a self portrait, but I’m not really very happy with how it turned out, so I don’t think I’m going to share it on here. I do have a couple of drawings I’ve been working on on my own time, though, so I may be posting one or two of those!

Right after that, rehearsals for our school play kicked into high gear and we started with costume and tech rehearsals for the week. Then the show- which was a huge success and a lot of fun! I played flute with out band and then did a couple of Shakespeare scenes with our drama class. Everyone had a lot of fun.

ThankYou

Then next weekend, my family went on a quick trip to see a craft fair and visit my aunt, uncle, and cousins.

The next day, my class left on a week long out-of-state field trip which was a lot of fun- I got to know everyone a whole lot better, saw some really good plays, and, overall, had a lot of fun. Also, we stopped at an Arby’s on the way there and saw what may be one of the most confusing signs of all time.

TurkeyAndChicken

???

Anyway, I was expecting to start posting again after that trip, but then I got a really nasty cold and just could muster up the motivation to do anything but watch Parks and Recreation and Dan and Phil. But hey, on the plus side, I got out of going to the gym!

Jogging

Anyway, I’m theoretically back now, assuming that nothing else comes up.

What I’m Listening To:

Bands: twenty one pilots, Panic! at the Disco, My Chemical Romance, Tonight Alive, Paramore, We are the In Crowd

Albums: Blurryface (twenty one pilots), Pretty.Odd. (Panic! at the Disco), Danger Days: The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys (My Chemical Romance), Future Hearts (All Time Low)

Currently listening to: Desolation Row by My Chemical Romance

And the riot squad they’re restless, they need somewhere to go, as Lady and I look out tonight from Desolation Row

Newly released songs I love:

We Don’t Believe What’s on TV by twenty one pilots

I need to know that when I fall you’ll still be here, cause if you stick around, I’ll sing you pretty sounds, and we’ll make money selling your hair. But I don’t care what’s in your hair, I just wanna know what’s on your mind.

The Judge by twenty one pilots

When the leader of the bad guys sang something soft and soaked in pain, I heard the echo from his secret hideaway.

What I read this month:

ShadowScaleI finally read Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman, the sequel to Seraphina, one of my all time favorite books. If I had to pick, though, I think that Shadow Scale was even better! It had a faster moving plot, cleared up a lot of the unanswered questions that were bugging my in the first book, and revealed a lot more about the dragons, which was cool.

Dove Arising was very good, but not really anything special. It had some very good points about society today, but in the end, it felt just like almost every other YA dystopian I’ve read before, and the main character just didn’t make sense to me. I did like it. Just not enough for it to particularly stick out in my mind. Think The Hunger Games with a less central love story.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower was amazing. I don’t have a whole lot to say except… wow. The ugly cover aside, it’s probably one of the best books I’ve ever read.

Of all the books I read this month, though, Beauty Queens by Libba Bray was my favorite. It was, like, socially conscious comedy. Think a feminist retelling of The Lord of the Flies, but funny. It goes from deep and thoughtful to hilarious and bizarre in a second. Like, you’ve got

“Why do girls always feel like they have to apologize for giving an opinion or taking up space in the world? Have you ever noticed that?” Nicole asked. “You go on websites and some girl leaves a post and if it’s longer than three sentences or she’s expressing her thoughts about some topic, she usually ends with, ‘Sorry for the rant’ or ‘That may be dumb, but that’s what I think.”

and

“I’ve been thinking about that book about the boys who crash on an island,” Mary Lou said to Adina one afternoon as they rested on their elbows taking bites from the same papaya.
“Lord of the Flies. What about it?”
You know how you said it wasn’t a true measure of humanity because there were no girls and you wondered how it would be different if there had been girls?”
“Yeah?”
“Maybe girls need an island to find themselves. Maybe they need a place where no one’s watching them so they can be who they really are.”
There was something about the island that made the girls forget who they had been. All those rules and shalt nots. They were no longer waiting for some arbitrary grade. They were no longer performing. Waiting. Hoping.
They were becoming.
They were.

but there’s also

“DiscomfortWear™, shapewear designed to eliminate rills, ripples, and muffin tops. In some cases known to eliminate circulation and breathing. If you’re not uncomfortable, it’s not DiscomfortWear™.”

and

It seemed odd to Sosie that she had to make some hard-and-fast decision about such an arbitrary, individual thing as attraction, like having to declare an orientation major: I am straight with a minor in gay.

So yeah. It was a really good book is what I’m trying to get at.

So, what did I miss while I was gone? What are you reading this month? And what music are you listening to?

2 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up: May 2015

    • Yeah, I agree! 😀 I really loved how a lot of the characters seemed really one dimensional at first, but then you learned more about them and found out that that wasn’t really true. And thanks!

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

