My Summer To-Do List


Summer is here, and I am totally ready for it. Despite the gruelingly hot summer weather where I live and my hatred for shorts (why is it impossible to find girl’s shorts at a reasonable length?!), I’m still really excited for this summer. I’ve been working on a ton of different lists of different things I’d like to achieve- reading lists, craft lists, music lists. If you can think of it, I probably have a list for it.

ToDo

Anyway, here are my goals for this summer. Maybe you’ll get some ideas for yourself!

21pCapriSun

Reading

This summer, I’d really like to branch out a little more in terms of what I’m reading, and also focus more on LGBT+ books, especially nonfiction. I tried to keep that in mind while creating my reading list, and in the end came up with a very diverse list, ranging from OCD, The Dude, and Me to 1984. I’ve also found some really interesting looking nonfiction, like a book about psychology (it’s aimed toward teens but not patronizing, which is nice) and some really cool books about the riot girl movement.

I’ve also signed up for the teen summer reading program at my library! I did it last year too, but joined late and was only able to participate in one of the activities. This year, it’s superhero themed, so I’m really excited (and a little nervous, admittedly, but I’m always nervous about meeting  new people, so that’s nothing new). I know I haven’t been posting about it as much lately, but I’m still a massive Marvel fan!

Music

I’d like to learn a little bit more about my ukulele and teach myself a few more songs. As of yet I only know one, so it’ll be fun to learn some more.

I’m also going to start doing some extra chores to earn money for a guitar, because, I mean, the main reason I’m teaching myself ukulele is to get practice for when I have a guitar (I’ve heard that the ukulele makes good practice because the chords are very similar- same shapes, different names). Wish me luck!

GetDownToBusiness

Also, I’m going to keep working on my flute, and hopefully start private voice lessons.

In terms of listening to music (as opposed to playing it), I’d like to branch out a little more. I really do have a pretty wide range of musical tastes, but lately I’ve been sticking pretty closely to my favorite bands and not really trying to find anything new. So this summer I’m going to be enlisting Pandora’s help in finding new music, especially some more punk rock. I’ve listened to a little teeny bit of the Ramones and Joan Jett, but that’s about it.

Shrug3

Art

I’d like to work on my drawing skills a little, but I don’t really have anything in particular in mind aside from… well, draw more!

My mom found a really cool website called DIY that basically lets you work toward different badges, and it has a lot of cool project ideas that I’m going to try. If you want to see my progress/ what activities I’ve done so far, just check out my profile!

Writing

I don’t have a whole lot of writing-specific goals, but I would like to post more frequently on this blog and try to finish a short story I’ve been working on.

What are you working on/ looking forward to this summer? Do you have any book or music recommendations for me?

12 thoughts on “My Summer To-Do List

  1. Hey Bridget! Sorry I haven’t talked to you in a while. >.> 😄
    So…I didn’t finish my manuscript for the novel I wanted you to critique because I’m kind of at a standstill. I’d love it if you could look it over for me and help me get to the next plot point, which I can send you.
    I don’t know how you want to share our novels, but reply to this comment and we’ll work something out.
    Can’t wait to read yours!

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: June 2015 | Stay and Watch the Stars

  3. Pingback: June Favourites! | Twist in the Taile

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

