Monthly Wrap Up: June 2015


Monthly Wrap Up is a monthly (duh) feature on Stay and Watch the Stars! It’s the place to find out what’s going on in my life, what I’ve read, what I’ve posted, and more!

MonthlyWrapUp

What I Posted:

I wrote about my Summer To-Do List to kick off the summer!

To celebrate the Supreme Court decision in favor of marriage equality, I posted a list of my ten favorite LGBT+ books!

I reviewed Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver.

I discussed the importance of having other people read your writing.

I worked on my novel work in progress, Show Me a Hero, by creating a playlist and costumes for each of the characters.

I posted a TED talk on feminism that I found really interesting.

I wrote a list of my ten favorite Marvel characters who I felt deserved their own movie.

I also decided to try out a new weekly feature- doing playlists every Sunday. Along with my Show Me a Hero playlist, I did a feel better one and a love songs one.

Life

It’s so nice being able to just relax and sleep in over the summer. I reaaaaally needed a break from school and stuff, I think. And I’ve been doing a little light summer reading, too.

HermioneBook

Some of those books were REALLY AMAZING and I LOVED THEM A LOT like The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Beauty Queens and Lies We Tell Ourselves.

ILoveIt

Yesterday I auditioned for a play at our local community theater. I should know around late July if I got in or not (the waiting is always the worst part about acting). In a way I really want to get in and in a way I wouldn’t really mind if I didn’t because I already know I’m going to be super busy next fall, with or without the play.

I found a tutorial to do DIY galaxy converse, so I painted my own, since they were getting pretty worn out. And they look soooo pretty, in my humble opinion!

Shoes

Also, in blog related news- I’m going to be making some pretty exciting changes to my new playlist feature next month, so keep an eye out! Hopefully, I’ll have a post explaining those changes up soon.

What I Read This Month:OnlyEverYours

Only Ever Yours was, disappointing ending aside, pretty good. It wasn’t awe inspiringly amazing or anything, but it was good. Some parts were pretty creepy, but a lot of it was honestly boring.

Nimona, a webcomic that was recently published as a graphic novel, was really good and super funny! And I loved the artwork, too.

IRL (In Real Life), another graphic novel, wasn’t as good as Nimona, and it felt pretty rushed, but the artwork was gorgeous and it was a good quick read.

Vanishing Girls was good but not great- I posted a review of it that’s linked above.

The Program was actually really, really disappointing. It turned a super interesting concept and turned it into a cliched, mushy teen romance. Read Uglies instead.

Schizo was eerily creepy and did a pretty amazing job as a thriller. If I had to describe it in one word, it would be unputdownable (is that even a word?).

LiesWeTellOurselvesLies We Tell Ourselves was AMAZING. Probably one of the best books I’ve ever read, and definitely one of my favorites… if not my number one favorite.

Ask the Passengers was a really cute, fluffy romance. It was good, but… I dunno. It didn’t really stick around in my memory that much.

We All Looked Up was such an interesting premise and it was really well executed, too (with most books, I’ve found that it’s one or the other a lot of the time). And the ENDING was just WOW. Another new favorite.

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda was another cute, fluffy romance. I really liked this one!

Not Otherwise Specified was a good book, but it felt kind of… I dunno… unpolished? at times. Something about the writing style I didn’t particularly like. But I’d recommend it anyway because of the characters and the premise.

Everybody Knows Your Name was- guess what- another cute, SUPER fluffy romance. It, like We All Looked Up, wasn’t really particularly memorable, but it was still a fun read.

Charisma was another really interesting book, but… for some reason it didn’t really hit home like Lies We Tell Ourselves and The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I dunno. It was interesting but it felt like pretty much every other YA book I’ve ever read.

You Look Different In Real Life was cool. A lot better than I’d expected, considering that I’d never heard of it until I saw it on the shelf at the library and thought “Huh. That’s an interesting title. Wonder what it’s about.” It was an interesting look at how fame can affect people.

If I Ever Get Out Of Here was another really good one. I liked it a lot, but it took me a long time to get through, too.

So, what did I miss while I was gone? What are you reading this month? And what music are you listening to?

3 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up: June 2015

  1. Ahhhh, you just listed so many LGBTQ+ books that I want to read! 😀

    Anyway. Your shoes look awesome! I should try that with mine. 🙂 I hope you get the part in the play!

    I love being able to sleep in during summer, too… well, except on Sundays, because then I have to get up early for work. 😛

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

