Music Monday #1: Girl Power


Music Monday is a bi-weekly blog link up to encourage the sharing and discussion of people’s favorite music. Join in to share your own music and find new songs to listen to! A new theme will be posted every other Monday.GirlPowerCover

Theme

So, welcome to the first Music Monday! This week’s theme, Girl Power, is one that I’ve actually wanted to make a post on for a while. Share some songs you like with particularly feminist lyrics, or just some of your favorite female singers! It’s up to you, as long as you stay somewhat within the topic. And, of course, have fun!

Rules

  1. This will probably be a bi-weekly feature- I’m going to try this as a link-up this month, and if it works, we’ll keep it. If not, it may become weekly or monthly.
  2. Assuming that it stays as a bi-weekly feature, the theme and my own playlist will be posted every other Monday, starting tomorrow. You can post your own playlist any time between the day the theme is posted and the day the next theme will be posted.
  3. I make an album cover-y graphic for each playlist. You’re welcome to use mine or make your own, whichever you prefer.
  4. If you want, you can post your playlist on Spotify, 8tracks, YouTube, or whatever else works for you, and link to that from your blog.
  5. You may use whatever music you want, but if it contains explicit language, please mention that in your post!
  6. This isn’t really required, meaning I won’t kick you out or anything if you don’t do it, but try to listen to and comment on a couple of other people’s playlists as well. The intention of this is to encourage the sharing of people’s favorite music!
  7. Have fun!

Join In

My Playlist

  1. Hurricane by Halsey
  2. Born for This by Paramore
  3. Bad Reputation by Joan Jett
  4. Cherry Bomb by The Runaways
  5. Sex Yeah by Marina and the Diamonds
  6. Proof by Paramore
  7. The Best Thing (That Never Happened) by We Are the In Crowd*
  8. What Are You So Scared Of? by Tonight Alive
  9. Teen Idle by Marina and the Diamonds
  10. My House by PVRIS

* These songs have curse words in them.

Don’t forget to join in with the link up!

22 thoughts on “Music Monday #1: Girl Power

  1. Eep, this looks fantastic! *immediately goes to put playlist on* I’m staying with family at the moment but I’d love to link up when I have slightly better computer access, haha. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Music Monday: Girl Power | Twist in the Taile

  3. Pingback: Music Monday: Girl Power | The Writing Hufflepuff

  4. I LOVE THIS MEME I’M GONNA GET INVOLVED. I’ve not listened to much on your playlist but I’m just started listening to halsey and I ADORE her plus marina, who I’d love to get back into listening to. this seems so fun! plus I aDORE THE THEME HELL YES #GIRLPOWER

    • YAAAAY! Halsey is AMAZING, and that’s saying a lot considering that I’m not usually into pop! And Marina has been one of my favorites for a while now. And I agree about the theme (that’s not egocentric, is it? :P). I love girl power playlists!

  5. Pingback: Music Monday | Girl Power | chroniccacti

  6. I saw my friend do this, so I clicked the link and now here I am! (I clicked the ‘follow’ button just because I loved the description. Hehe. Typical me. And, I couldn’t afford to miss any Music Mondays!) This is a fantastic idea! I really hope I can talk Amy into doing this with me! (She’s my co-blogger!) Keep being amazing!
    -NIkki

  7. Yay for musical love! 😀 I’m absolutely loving your song choices – girl power is one of the best things to celebrate, I think, and what better way to do so than through music? (And by the way, Bad Reputation is one of my favourite songs feminist songs in the world, second only to Cellhouse Tango from Chicago. It always makes me want to run around in high heels & red lipstick, because it’s awesome like that. 😉 )

  8. Pingback: Music Monday: Girl Power! | A Hufflepuff's Thoughts

  9. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: July 2015 | Stay and Watch the Stars

  10. Pingback: #1 Music Monday | The Epic Blog

  11. Pingback: Music Monday #4 | Battle Anthems | chronic cacti

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

