The 777 Challenge


I was tagged to do the 777 Challenge by Evi @ Adventuring Through the Pages (thank you!). The gist of it seems to be that you go to page seven of your current work in progress, copy and paste the first seven lines into a blog post, and then tag seven people to do the same.

The piece I’m using for this is a short story, Huntresses (although that title is probably bound to change), that I’m working on. Think modernized Greek mythology as a family drama-ish thing, starring Artemis as the lead of an angry girl band.

Anyway, here goes!

The door opens after what seems like an eternity. The guy standing there as just the same as I remembered- uneven stubble, a mop of curly black hair, and dark brown skin. He leans to one side, propping himself up with a crutch. There’s also a concerned expression on his face, but I expected that.

“Artemis?” Hephaestus asks hesitantly. “What are you doing here?”

“I need a place to crash.” I explain.

“Oh.” He pauses for a moment, then nods. “Okay. You can stay in Aphrodite’s room.”

Something about this statement- especially the plain, matter of fact way in which he says it- strikes me as odd (why wouldn’t Aphrodite be home, at this time?), but I dismiss the confusion and step past him, into the house. I’m too tired to think very hard, but I do manage to remember something Apollo had told me- how Aphrodite would cheat on Hephaestus shamelessly with his brother, Ares.

“Down the hallway. Second door on the right.” he says simply, like he takes in bedraggled half siblings all the time. Maybe he does. Wouldn’t be all that shocking, considering our family.

I think that I fell asleep the moment my head hit the pillow.

I’m tagging A Hufflepuff’s Thoughts, The Writing Hufflepuff, Twist in the Taile, and anyone else who wants to do this!

3 thoughts on “The 777 Challenge

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: July 2015 | Stay and Watch the Stars

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

