Monthly Wrap Up: July 2015


Monthly Wrap Up is a monthly (duh) feature on Stay and Watch the Stars! It’s the place to find out what’s going on in my life, what I’ve read, what I’ve posted, and more!

MonthlyWrapUp

What I Posted:

I kicked off a new blog feature, Music Monday, and people shared Girl Power and Nostalgia themed playlists.

I reviewed Afterworlds, This Song Will Save Your Life, and Ant Man.

I discussed the pros and cons of writing novels vs short stories and asked for your opinions.

I shared an excerpt from my WIP for the 777 Challenge.

I rambled about what makes a feminist character in We Don’t Need More Strong Female Characters.

I shared the projects I’ve been working on over the summer.

Life:

This month was actually really relaxed, and I think I needed that.

ToDo

I got a chance to work on a lot of art projects and listen to a lot of new music, so that was really nice. The library reading program finished, but I’m going to join their YA Book Club, so that’ll be fun. And I kept going to my singing lessons- they’re a lot of fun.

But the thing that I’m probably most excited about is that I started playing guitar! I’ve been wanting to try guitar for a while now, and I wasn’t disappointed- it’s sooo much fun. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep it up once school starts.

Inkheart

What I’m Listening To:

Bands/ Artists: Paramore, Panic! at the Disco, Fall Out Boy, Bikini Kill, Halsey, Marina and the Diamonds, Gerard Way, Patrick Stump, David Bowie

Albums: Self Titled by Paramore, Pretty. Odd. by Panic! at the Disco (weird punctuation is, like, their thing), Folie a Deux by Fall Out Boy, Room 93 by Halsey, Electra Heart by Marina and the Diamonds, Hesitant Alien by Gerard Way, Soul Punk by Patrick Stump

Currently Listening to: Coast (It’s Gonna Get Better) by Patrick Stump (this is such a feel good song for me, I love it)

I keep making mistakes, but it takes some time to get anything right. It’s gonna get better, it’s gonna work out.

Newly released songs I love:

Colors by Halsey

You were red and you liked me cause I was blue. You touched me, and suddenly I was a lilac sky, and you decided purple just wasn’t for you.

Hallelujah by Panic! at the Disco (the song isn’t actually new, but they just released the music video)

Then the time for being sad is over, and you miss ’em like you miss no other, and being blue is better than being over it.

Girls Like Girls by Hayley Kiyoko

Isn’t this why we came? Gotta get with you. Girls like girls like boys do, nothing new.

How was your summer? What were you reading, and what music were you listening to?

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

