The Harry Potter Tag


HarryPotterThanks to Engie @ Musings from Neville’s Navel for tagging me in this one! I think it’s been a while since I was tagged for this one (oops) but I already had quite a few posts scheduled, so oh well.

Slight disclaimer: if for some strange reason you have been living in a hole most of your life and haven’t finished the Harry Potter series yet, there are spoilers in this post. You have been warned.

Anyway. Time for some Harry Potter appreciation!

Favorite book?

DeathlyHallowsUp until my last read (a few months ago, I think), I would’ve answered The Prisoner of Azkaban, mostly because it introduced two of my favorite characters at the time- Lupin and Sirius. And I still love The Prisoner of Azkaban, don’t get me wrong.

But I think that now I prefer The Deathly Hallows. I just love the way that everything you thought you knew about all the characters got twisted around (I’m actually not on Snape’s side any more, but that’s a conversation for another day). It’s a lot faster paced than Prisoner of Azkaban, and it’s… long. A more complex story. I like that.

HalfBloodPrinceFavorite film?

I actually… don’t remember the movies that well? It’s been a while since I watched them. But I do remember really liking how The Half Blood Prince was executed. They did a nice job mixing humor and creepiness, and I liked that. And it was also the first Harry Potter movie I saw in theaters! So it has a pretty special place in my heart, which is funny considering that I didn’t particularly like the book (I didn’t dislike it, it just… doesn’t really stand out to me).

Least favorite book?HarryPotter

Okay, don’t kill me here, but… I don’t really like The Sorcerer’s Stone. It all seems so cheesy to me? I mean, I get that that’s mostly because everyone is so young, but I just feel kind of bored by it. I love the entire series, really. But I like it most later in the series, when things get more three dimensional and layered. Everything is so black and white in The Sorcerer’s Stone.

Least favorite film?

Oh my god I HATE THE GOBLET OF FIRE ADAPTATION. They changed it so much and left out so many of the things I loved about the book? And I’m never going to forgive movie Harry for killing that dragon when he was clearly capable of getting the egg without killing a dragon in the book.

dragon

why would anybody want to hurt this little buddy?

Parts of the books/ movies that made you cry?

Well, a couple years ago, the moments when Snape’s backstory was revealed. But I’m over that now. That guy was a jerk and a creep, albeit maybe a little bit of a sympathetic jerk.

But anyway. I digress. Dumbledore’s death was one of the first scenes in a book to make me cry- I was in tears. These days, it’s usually Lupin and Tonks’ death (THEY DESERVED BETTER) but Dumbledore’s death still hurts a lot too.

DumbledoreDeath

LunaFavorite character?

ALL OF THEM (except for Snape, as I’m sure you’ve realized by now).

But if I had to pick one… probably Luna? I really like how everyone assumes she’s… well… loony, but she doesn’t let it get to her. Like, she’s creative and open minded, but a lot smarter than she seems. I also have a soft spot for Ginny and Neville and Hermione.

Least favorite character?

Take a wild guess.

SnapeConfused

The guy was an abusive, manipulative creep… but he’s still a bunch of people’s favorite character??? How about a little more love for Remus or Molly or literally anyone but Snape.

SnapeLifeIsntFair

Favorite quote?

I… honestly don’t know? I have a lot, and I don’t have time to go back and reread the books to find my favorite. So for now, I’m just going to go with one that I remember- “We’ve all got light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on, that’s who we really are.” -Sirius Black

Least favorite quote?

“Always.” I’m actually seriously considering writing up a post on how much I hate Snape because I have a lot of feelings on this.

Favorite music from the films?

I don’t really know? But I do love Hedwig’s Theme.

What would your patronus be?

A mantis shrimp. The things are beautiful and can see waaaay more colors than any other animal we know of (including humans), but they’re also, like, super vicious. You should seriously Google them, because I can’t do them justice.

MantisShrimp

I’ve also once had a friend tell me that I looked like “a murderous fairy princess” so I feel like a mantis shrimp would be an accurate patronus for me.

If you could have the Resurrection Stone, the Invisibility Cloak, or the Elder Wand, which would you choose?

I don’t know. The Elder Wand sounds cool, but I feel like it would be more trouble than it’s worth? So I’d probably go with the Invisibility Cloak.

SlytherclawWhich house would you be in?

Honestly, I’m not sure? I’m pretty ambitious and I have big dreams- I want to do something big with my life, make the world a better place- so I feel like Slytherin would be pretty fitting. But then I feel like creativity is a pretty pivotal part of my personality, so maybe Ravenclaw?

If you could meet any member of the cast, who would it be?

EVERYONE.

If you were on the Quidditch team, what position would you play?

I’d like to say Keeper. But, honestly, I doubt that I’d be on the team. I’m not the most coordinated of people- my talents (and interests) lie elsewhere.

Were you happy with the ending?

In a way? I mean, it felt satisfying, but EVERYONE I LOVED DIED (okay, not everyone, but almost everyone).

How much does Harry Potter mean to you?

It means everything to me, honestly.

It’s life.

ILoveIt

I’m feeling lazy right now, so… I’m going to tag whoever is reading this post!

36 thoughts on “The Harry Potter Tag

  1. Hahaha I loved this post!
    You’re the only person I know that has liked the adaptation for HP6, but I get your logic. :3

    I wanted Remus and Tonks to be happy forever and ever… </3

  2. Pingback: The Harry Potter Tag | brooklyngirljournal

  3. Bless you for hating Snape! I completely feel you, I’ve been thinking about writing a post about why I hate him as well, but I feel like that’s just going to be one, big messy rant haha. I especially don’t understand the people who LOVE Snape, and HATE James. Yes, James was a bully. But sadly lots of people are bullies when they were kids, but they grow out of it. Just like James did. Snape never did though. He remained a bully and he bullied kids. Neville’s Boggart turned into Snape for God’s sake, instead of Bellatrix Lestrange who tortured his parents until they lost their minds.
    On a happier note, I loved reading your answers 🙂

  4. My first thought whilst reading this post was ‘I AGREE WITH LOADS!’ and my second one was ‘poor Snape’. Also, I HAVE TO DO THIS TAG BECAUSE HARRY POTTER IS LIFE.

    I was so annoyed that half the really good characters were killed off (RIP them). WHY, J. K., WHY?!?!

  5. *is a Snape fan* *slowly backs away*

    Haha. I guess we all fancy different type of characters. My favorite book is Order of the phoenix, but I also have a lot of love for The Deathly hallows 🙂 I didn’t like the movie from Half-blood prince.. Too much romance and sappy things, I wanted action and magic! Goblet of Fire is, after The deathly hallows, my favorite adaptation, haha. Lupin and Tops </3 HP IS LIFE.

    • Well, to each their own 🙂

      I liked Order of the Phoenix quite a bit, but it moved a bit too slowly for my tastes. But, I mean, every book is amazing. I don’t really remember any of the movies that well, honestly, but Half Blood Prince was exciting for me because I got to see it in theaters. And I know, they deserved so much better 😦

  6. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: August 2015 | Stay and Watch the Stars

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!

