My Hero Monday: Susan B. Anthony


My Hero Monday is a monthly blog link up hosted by Chloe @ Free as a Girl With Wings. In the words of its creator, “it celebrates female heroes in our society, and promotes learning about new heroes.” If you want to participate next month (and I highly encourage you to do so), there’s a link at the bottom of this post.


MyHeroMonday

Susan B. Anthony

SusanBAnthony

{The Susan B. Anthony House} {Biography.com} {Wikipedia}

Date of Birth: February 15, 1820

School(s): Briefly attended Deborah Moulson’s Female Seminary, home schooled by her father, Canajoharie Academy

When did I first hear about her?: In third grade, one of my assignments was to choose a historical figure who we thought should have been president and then make a mock election poster. I had absolutely no idea who to make it about, but then found a book in my school’s library about Susan B. Anthony. She seemed really cool, so I decided to make my poster about her.

What makes her one of my heroes?: 

Susan B. Anthony, along with her close friend Elizabeth Cady Stanton, headed up the women’s suffrage movement. They were both pivotal figures in achieving women’s rights to vote.

Suffragettes

Suffragettes

She was also a supporter of the American Anti-Slavery Society. When she was seventeen, she collected anti-slavery petitions. As an adult, she became the New York state agent for the Anti-Slavery Society.

AntiSlavery

An advertisement for the Female Anti-Slavery Society

Susan B. Anthony (and the other suffragettes) was harshly ridiculed, accused of trying to “destroy the institution of marriage”, and even arrested (for voting) at one point, but she continued to work hard for what she believed in.

SuffragettesCartoon

An anti-suffrage political cartoon

SuffragettesCartoon2

Another

She was the first non-fictional woman to be pictured on US currency (a dollar coin).

SusanBAnthonyCoin

Quotes:

I declare to you that woman must not depend upon the protection of man, but must be taught to protect herself, and there I take my stand.

Men, their rights, and nothing more; women, their rights, and nothing less.

No man is good enough to govern any woman without her consent.

This is rather different from the receptions I used to get fifty years ago. They threw things at me then but they were not roses.

I distrust those people who know so well what God wants them to do, because I notice it always coincides with their own desires.

No self-respecting woman should wish or work for the success of a party who ignores her sex.

You would better educate ten women into the practice of liberal principles than to organize a thousand on a platform of intolerance and bigotry.

MHM Schedule for January 2015:

October 5:

Chloe @ Free As a Girl With Wings

Evi @ Where Books Never End

October 12:

Bridget @ Stay and Watch the Stars

October 19:

Engie @ Musings From Neville’s Navel

Moosha23 @ All Things Wordy

October 26:

Wrap-up by Chloe

2 thoughts on “My Hero Monday: Susan B. Anthony

  1. Pingback: My Hero Monday January 2015 Wrap-Up and Sign-Up | Free As a Girl With Wings

  2. Pingback: Monthly Recap | Stay and Watch the Stars

Thoughts? Comments? Great! Bring 'em on!